Arnsparger, Crennell win assistant coach achievement award

NFL Dallas
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The late Bill Arnsparger and Houston associate head coach Romeo Crennel have won the Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman award from the Professional Football Writers of America.

Arnsparger was behind Miami’s “No-Name Defense” and “Killer B’s” and helped three different franchises to the Super Bowl. Crennel is in his 38th season as an NFL coach and has been on the staff of five Super Bowl champion teams.

They are the 15th and 16th recipients of the Dr. Z Award, started by the PFWA in 2014 to recognize lifetime achievement among assistant coaches.

Arnsparger coached in six Super Bowls with Baltimore, Miami and San Diego and won twice with the Dolphins. Crennel coached in two Super Bowls with the Giants and four with the Patriots with five championships.

Other nominees were longtime Pittsburgh Steelers running backs coach Dick Hoak, current Las Vegas Raiders defensive line coach Rod Marinelli, late defensive line coach Bobb McKittrick, late defensive coordinator Floyd Peters, late defensive coordinator Buddy Ryan and current San Francisco 49ers running backs coach Bobby Turner.

More AP NFL: and

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


COVID Tip: Wash Your Hands

COVID Tip: Cover When Coughing and Sneezing

COVID Tip: Disinfecting

COVID Tip: Cover Your Mouth

COVID Tip: Avoid Close Contact

COVID-19 Tip: Disinfect Areas

COVID-19 Tip: Wash Hands Often