RGV counties included in USDA disaster declaration, Gov. Abbott says

Local News

Freezing temperatures can potentially hurt local crops that are vital to the Rio Grande Valley’s economy.

HARLINGEN, Texas (KVEO) — On Wednesday, Governor Greg Abbott announced that the
U.S Department of Agriculture (USDA) issued a disaster declaration for Cameron County, Hidalgo County, Starr County, Willacy County, and 19 other counties.

The disaster declaration makes federal assistance available to agricultural producers who suffered losses in designated counties, as well as in counties that are contiguous to a designated county. 

Willacy County was included as a contiguous county, while Cameron, Hidalgo, and Starr are designated counties.

“This designation will provide crucial assistance to our agricultural producers as they continue to recover from the severe winter storm,” Abbott stated in a press release. “I encourage all producers who were impacted by the severe winter storm to continue working with the USDA to ensure assistance is available to all eligible producers in our state.” 

Abbott requested the designation in February in response to severe winter weather that impacted Texas.

Other counties included in this designation are Duval, McLennan, Webb, and Zapata. Contiguous counties included in this designation are Bell, Bosque, Brooks, Coryell, Dimmit, Falls, Hill, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, La Salle, Limestone, Live Oak, McMullen, and Maverick. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


COVID Tip: Wash Your Hands

COVID Tip: Cover When Coughing and Sneezing

COVID Tip: Disinfecting

COVID Tip: Cover Your Mouth

COVID Tip: Avoid Close Contact

COVID-19 Tip: Disinfect Areas

COVID-19 Tip: Wash Hands Often

ValleyCentral App Links

App Store Link
Google Play Link
More Throwback Thursday