Mayor seats and Constitutional Amendments on the ballot for 2019 election

Local News
February 07 2021 06:00 pm

MCALLEN, Texas – Today there will be many local city elections across the Valley. Some including several mayoral elections apart from the 10 constitutional amendments on this November’s ballot. In Hidalgo County there are four municipalities looking to elect a mayor.

In the city of Alamo two time incumbent mayor Diana Martinez is looking for a third and final term as mayor. This election she is facing a challenge from Place 1 Alamo City Commissioner Trinidad “Trino” Medina.

In the city of Edcouch, incumbent Mayor Virginio “Virgil” Gonzalez Jr. is looking for another term as mayor. He is facing a challenge from current Alderman Fred Borrego Jr. Borrego vacated his current alderman seat to run for mayor.

In the city of La Joya there are three candidates on the ballot as embattled mayor Fito Salinas is being challenged by former Police Chief Isidro Casanova and former state trooper Jaime Gaitan.

In Weslaco incumbent mayor David Suarez is asking voters for another 6 year term as mayor. Suarez is being challenged by Alfredo “Duff” Castañeda.

Polls in Hidalgo county will be open today from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. For a second consecutive year Hidalgo County is a county wide polling place, meaning registered voters can vote at any poll location.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


COVID Tip: Wash Your Hands

COVID Tip: Cover When Coughing and Sneezing

COVID Tip: Disinfecting

COVID Tip: Cover Your Mouth

COVID Tip: Avoid Close Contact

COVID-19 Tip: Disinfect Areas

COVID-19 Tip: Wash Hands Often

ValleyCentral App Links

App Store Link
Google Play Link
More Throwback Thursday